Создать ответ 
 
Рейтинг темы:
  • Голосов: 0 - Средняя оценка: 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Basic question about dreamshell and HDD
Автор Сообщение
jose_leandro Не на форуме
Новичок
*

Сообщений: 3
Зарегистрирован: 22.09.2014
Рейтинг: 0
Сказал спасибо: 1
Поблагодарили 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщ.
Сообщение: #1
Basic question about dreamshell and HDD
Hi

First: My apologies if I make basic questions about dreamcast/dreamshell/gdi diles: I don't know very much about this system.

Second. I have a dreamcast and I would like to preserve its gd-rom (it can read original CD and CD-R but It only like TDK )

For this reason, I made the mod for HDD. I take it from this post:

http://www.dc-swat.ru/forum/thread-1902.html

I think I did it well but I'm not be able to load any game.

For tests, I use 2 HDD

- Seagate 40 gb (slave)
- Compact flash samdisk 1G (and a HDD-CD adaptor) (slave)

- dreamshell 4.0 rc2 and rc3

Nightmare_creatures_II_pal.gdi

-load a CD-R with dreamshell (any of two version)
-press isoloader
-Dreamcast detect a CD and a HDD
-press HDD
-it appear the Nightmare_creatures.gdi
-press in this file. It appears the image of the disc (nice)
-press again
-Dreamcast say that It begins to load
-black screen ( in the lcd of the pad put the image of the game).


I read that some games don't work. Yesterday I found this other post:

http://www.dc-swat.ru/forum/thread-2145.html

I download the game zombie Revenge.cdi and try it

-I load a CD-R with dreamshell (any of two version)
-press isoloader
-Dreamcast detect a CD and a HDD
-press HDD
-it appear the zombie Revenge.cdi
-press in this file. It doesn't appear the image of the disc
-press again
-Dreamcast say that It begins to load but it shows this error message: CD/GD is not iso9660 / can't mount gdi to /isoldr
(I burn the cdi in a CD and it works)

I would like to ask:
- Do I have to change anything in the gdi image?
- Do I have to add anything to the HDD?
- What game / program you recommended for test the HDD?
- Any tutorial I have to read?

Thanks :-)

José Leandro
Spain
23.09.2014 00:40
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
SWAT Не на форуме
Администратор
*******

Сообщений: 6559
Зарегистрирован: 04.01.2005
Рейтинг: 28
Сказал спасибо: 67
Поблагодарили 524 раз(а) в 401 сообщ.
Сообщение: #2
RE: Basic question about dreamshell and HDD
Nightmare creatures it's a WinCE game and use MMU, it's not supported yet.
Some CDI images DS can't parse, because it's has different format version or something.
Try another games (any from compatibility list) and I recommended use ISO or optimized GDI images, not use CDI, it's slower in general.

[Изображение: barbers.png]
(Последний раз сообщение было отредактировано 23.09.2014 в 06:59, отредактировал пользователь SWAT.)
23.09.2014 06:58
Вебсайт Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
 Сказали спасибо: jose_leandro
jose_leandro Не на форуме
Новичок
*

Сообщений: 3
Зарегистрирован: 22.09.2014
Рейтинг: 0
Сказал спасибо: 1
Поблагодарили 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщ.
Сообщение: #3
RE: Basic question about dreamshell and HDD
Hi
(23.09.2014 06:58)SWAT писал(а):  Nightmare creatures it's a WinCE game and use MMU, it's not supported yet.
Some CDI images DS can't parse, because it's has different format version or something.
Try another games (any from compatibility list) and I recommended use ISO or optimized GDI images, not use CDI, it's slower in general.

I'll download other games/program and test them

Thanks

José Leandro
23.09.2014 22:54
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
jose_leandro Не на форуме
Новичок
*

Сообщений: 3
Зарегистрирован: 22.09.2014
Рейтинг: 0
Сказал спасибо: 1
Поблагодарили 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщ.
Сообщение: #4
RE: Basic question about dreamshell and HDD
Hi

(23.09.2014 06:58)SWAT писал(а):  Try another games (any from compatibility list) and I recommended use ISO or optimized GDI images, not use CDI, it's slower in general.

Finally I was success with one game. I had to use your iso make utilities. I toke the game ( in bin/cue format), extract to a directory and made a iso with isomake.It worked :-)

I checked the installation because I use ide cable and it isn't much space inside dreamcast. Also because sometimes the HDD/CF weren't detected and this situation change if I left the dreamcast without case. I can't confirm it but I think that the cable for HDD/CF can takes noise from dreamcast signal if you don't do it well.

Thanks a lot

José Leandro
30.09.2014 23:21
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
Создать ответ 


Похожие темы
Тема: Автор Ответов: Просмотров: Посл. сообщение
  Homebrew Games in HD IDE Dreamshell / Dreamcast aldair 0 667 25.11.2019 21:39
Посл. сообщение: aldair
  Simple method for run homebrew on dreamshell(ide)Dreamcast aldair 1 676 24.10.2019 07:11
Посл. сообщение: EduardoKmus
  Question about GDI / CDI / ISO EduardoKmus 0 494 08.10.2019 05:20
Посл. сообщение: EduardoKmus
  Dreamshell Boot Loader and VMU manager whschimmel 1 878 20.07.2019 13:02
Посл. сообщение: SWAT
  Dreamshell Themes and modifications. K-Do 3 1155 27.05.2019 16:37
Посл. сообщение: SWAT
  Dreamcast Dev Livestream #1: Basic environment and workflow Ivan GR 0 954 25.04.2019 22:22
Посл. сообщение: Ivan GR
Зеленый MultiBios - Dreamshell + Freezone dragoncity 9 3554 18.04.2019 12:56
Посл. сообщение: aykiri1
  Dreamshell Error issues Guigui59210 2 1315 22.01.2019 23:33
Посл. сообщение: dragoncity
  DreamShell stuck at boot loader screen kitsunee2 3 1517 17.01.2019 21:11
Посл. сообщение: megavolt85
Подмигивает Last Dreamshell + Presets + Covers + Games + Installation G1-ATA & GD-IDE dragoncity 9 7609 25.10.2018 19:06
Посл. сообщение: fafadou

Переход:


Пользователи просматривают эту тему: 1 Гость(ей)