Создать ответ 
 
Рейтинг темы:
  • Голосов: 0 - Средняя оценка: 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
MX29L3211 bios flasher support?
Автор Сообщение
Gillbert Не на форуме
Продвинутый
***

Сообщений: 127
Зарегистрирован: 10.08.2014
Рейтинг: 4
Сказал спасибо: 30
Поблагодарили 53 раз(а) в 34 сообщ.
Сообщение: #1
MX29L3211 bios flasher support?
Is it confirmed that Bios Flasher has support for MX29L3211 chip?

I'm trying to perform a bios mod with this chip in a VA1 board but the bios flasher isn't able to detect it, I've already tried 2 chips, same results. It works nice with a MX29LV160.

I did a research I found that support for MX29L3211 chip was added some time ago, so I grabbed the updated version but still no luck.

Unfortunately I'm not able to test the chips by other way, my programmer isn't compatible with them and I don't have a SOP44 socket adapter.

Thanks in advance!
26.09.2016 08:41
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
megavolt85 Не на форуме
Супермодератор
******

Сообщений: 2708
Зарегистрирован: 24.03.2012
Рейтинг: 32
Сказал спасибо: 155
Поблагодарили 1104 раз(а) в 706 сообщ.
Сообщение: #2
RE: MX29L3211 bios flasher support?
replace /DS/modules/bflash.klf to bflash.klf from github

HKT-3030, Bios mod, SD mod, VGA internal mod, G1ATA mod, Region changer mod, PSU mod
26.09.2016 09:32
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
 Сказали спасибо: Gillbert
Gillbert Не на форуме
Продвинутый
***

Сообщений: 127
Зарегистрирован: 10.08.2014
Рейтинг: 4
Сказал спасибо: 30
Поблагодарили 53 раз(а) в 34 сообщ.
Сообщение: #3
RE: MX29L3211 bios flasher support?
Thanks a billion! It worked! Smile
The chip was detected and successfully programmed.

However I have now another problem: How to flash two bios in it?

The reason I'm using the MX29L3211 is because it's a 4MB flash chip and I want to perform a dual custom bios (two bios in one single chip).

I merged two 2MB bios files into one, which gives me a 4MB bios file, but it seems is not possible to flash the 4MB bios at once, so I suppose I have to flash it in two parts, am I right?


.jpg  DSC03804.JPG (Размер: 91.91 Кб / Загрузок: 25)

I know that "data length" is the size of the file in bytes, but what about the "start address"? I tried to insert a hex value for the address but no luck.
27.09.2016 08:53
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
SWAT Не на форуме
Администратор
*******

Сообщений: 6683
Зарегистрирован: 04.01.2005
Рейтинг: 28
Сказал спасибо: 77
Поблагодарили 635 раз(а) в 464 сообщ.
Сообщение: #4
RE: MX29L3211 bios flasher support?
It's not posisble, because Sega mapped only 2MB memory for this chip.
As flashrom it's can be use more memory without hard modifications (add extra address lines).
btw flashrom has 256KB in stock, but it's not used.

[Изображение: barbers.png]
(Последний раз сообщение было отредактировано 27.09.2016 в 10:15, отредактировал пользователь SWAT.)
27.09.2016 10:14
Вебсайт Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
megavolt85 Не на форуме
Супермодератор
******

Сообщений: 2708
Зарегистрирован: 24.03.2012
Рейтинг: 32
Сказал спасибо: 155
Поблагодарили 1104 раз(а) в 706 сообщ.
Сообщение: #5
RE: MX29L3211 bios flasher support?
Gillbert, please test. Connect A20 pin to GND and flash BIOS
For change BIOS use A20 pin, not connected is first BIOS, connected to ground is second bios.

HKT-3030, Bios mod, SD mod, VGA internal mod, G1ATA mod, Region changer mod, PSU mod
27.09.2016 15:39
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
Gillbert Не на форуме
Продвинутый
***

Сообщений: 127
Зарегистрирован: 10.08.2014
Рейтинг: 4
Сказал спасибо: 30
Поблагодарили 53 раз(а) в 34 сообщ.
Сообщение: #6
RE: MX29L3211 bios flasher support?
(27.09.2016 10:14)SWAT писал(а):  It's not posisble, because Sega mapped only 2MB memory for this chip.

Thanks. Well that's a pity. Sad
So does it mean that even if I flash the chip with two bios using an external programmer, Dreamcast can not access the second bank of the flash?

But I'm curious about that "start address" option on bios flasher program, how to use it? Do I need to use a hex value or what?

(27.09.2016 15:39)megavolt85 писал(а):  Gillbert, please test. Connect A20 pin to GND and flash BIOS
For change BIOS use A20 pin, not connected is first BIOS, connected to ground is second bios.

I already done that. Unfortunately nothing changes when I connect A20 pin to the GND Sad It doesn't select the banks.

Like SWAT wrote, the problem is because Dreamcast can not reach more than 2MB address lines.
27.09.2016 21:20
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
SWAT Не на форуме
Администратор
*******

Сообщений: 6683
Зарегистрирован: 04.01.2005
Рейтинг: 28
Сказал спасибо: 77
Поблагодарили 635 раз(а) в 464 сообщ.
Сообщение: #7
RE: MX29L3211 bios flasher support?
"Start address" like a offset (the BIOS mapped to zero memory) this field just for decimal digits.

[Изображение: barbers.png]
28.09.2016 07:37
Вебсайт Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
Создать ответ 


Похожие темы
Тема: Автор Ответов: Просмотров: Посл. сообщение
  Checking if your monitor has 15khz support with vga cable. aldair 0 903 12.10.2021 18:12
Посл. сообщение: aldair
  Question about dual bios mod chth96 3 2243 14.03.2021 14:08
Посл. сообщение: megavolt85
Лампочка 29lv640D as BIOS? Is it possible? alponxo 1 1960 30.01.2021 10:15
Посл. сообщение: SWAT
  NEO4ALL with mp3 support for ide and sd / Dreamcast aldair 0 2203 22.09.2020 19:38
Посл. сообщение: aldair
  CSO support sundance 4 4366 16.03.2020 10:14
Посл. сообщение: sundance
  finding an IDE hdd with LBA48 support Mu. 1 2859 23.02.2020 01:10
Посл. сообщение: megavolt85
  Problem with bios flashing va0 using mx29f1610mc-10 cryptblood1986 22 16969 18.09.2019 23:07
Посл. сообщение: megavolt85
  BIOS FLASHER PROBLEM HELP SUWAT dreamcastfix 10 9990 01.08.2019 00:35
Посл. сообщение: megavolt85
  iSCSI support : launch games through network Tiki10 2 4164 10.04.2019 14:38
Посл. сообщение: Tiki10
Радуга Alternative Bios Soldering Points dragoncity 0 3450 18.02.2019 18:29
Посл. сообщение: dragoncity

Переход:


Пользователи просматривают эту тему: 1 Гость(ей)