Создать ответ 
 
Рейтинг темы:
  • Голосов: 0 - Средняя оценка: 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
Автор Сообщение
Some chump Не на форуме
Новичок
*

Сообщений: 3
Зарегистрирован: 14.01.2016
Рейтинг: 0
Сказал спасибо: 0
Поблагодарили 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщ.
Сообщение: #1
DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
Hello.

I have added to my DC an IDE HDD and a dual bios.
The bios is flashed with "boot_loader_unlock_G1_IGR_dbs_nogdrom.bios"
DC will boot to dreamshell on the HDD and games load fine.

I installed a 33.8688MHz oscillator to B23 of the GDROM connector and removed the GDROM. When booting the DC will freeze in the "Dreamshell Boot Loader v2.3" menu.

So, with the GDROM attached, DC boots to IDE HDD.
With GDROM removed and 33.8688MHz oscillator attached and ".nogdrom bios" installed, DC will not boot.

Is there something else I need to do to boot to IDE HDD without the GDROM fitted?
14.01.2016 08:53
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
SWAT Не на форуме
Администратор
*******

Сообщений: 6542
Зарегистрирован: 04.01.2005
Рейтинг: 28
Сказал спасибо: 65
Поблагодарили 517 раз(а) в 396 сообщ.
Сообщение: #2
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
Can you show the oscillator? What it connected?

[Изображение: barbers.png]
15.01.2016 12:49
Вебсайт Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
Some chump Не на форуме
Новичок
*

Сообщений: 3
Зарегистрирован: 14.01.2016
Рейтинг: 0
Сказал спасибо: 0
Поблагодарили 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщ.
Сообщение: #3
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
It's a 33.8688MHz oscillator connected to B23.
I have removed it now. I measured it with an oscilloscope, and where I had it, it was picking up too much interference.
Easier thing for me to do, I have just removed the laser unit, but still have the control board connected.
15.01.2016 23:14
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
SWAT Не на форуме
Администратор
*******

Сообщений: 6542
Зарегистрирован: 04.01.2005
Рейтинг: 28
Сказал спасибо: 65
Поблагодарили 517 раз(а) в 396 сообщ.
Сообщение: #4
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
I wanted to know you use active crystal (with power) or passive quartz?

[Изображение: barbers.png]
16.01.2016 16:10
Вебсайт Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
Some chump Не на форуме
Новичок
*

Сообщений: 3
Зарегистрирован: 14.01.2016
Рейтинг: 0
Сказал спасибо: 0
Поблагодарили 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщ.
Сообщение: #5
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
It was an active crystal, 3.3v.
It wasn't producing a smooth wave form. Compared to the internal oscillator, it looked like rubbish.
17.01.2016 00:30
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
P@S@f Не на форуме
Пользователь
**

Сообщений: 94
Зарегистрирован: 23.01.2011
Рейтинг: 1
Сказал спасибо: 4
Поблагодарили 5 раз(а) в 5 сообщ.
Сообщение: #6
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
It matters how you connected and powered it. Provide us with photos.
18.01.2016 23:36
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
aykiri1 Не на форуме
Пользователь
**

Сообщений: 50
Зарегистрирован: 15.11.2016
Рейтинг: 1
Сказал спасибо: 6
Поблагодарили 29 раз(а) в 16 сообщ.
Сообщение: #7
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
i have same problem. i have installed active crystal to mainboard, and HDD (crystal is OK. with crystal sound is OK)
removed gdrom. HDD not booting but SD card booting

if i manuel select IDE from startup screen its booting from HDD

whats problem ?
(Последний раз сообщение было отредактировано 24.02.2017 в 16:12, отредактировал пользователь aykiri1.)
24.02.2017 16:12
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
aldair Не на форуме
Опытный
****

Сообщений: 550
Зарегистрирован: 03.02.2012
Рейтинг: 7
Сказал спасибо: 65
Поблагодарили 151 раз(а) в 108 сообщ.
Сообщение: #8
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
(16.01.2016 16:10)SWAT писал(а):  I wanted to know you use active crystal (with power) or passive quartz?

I have the same problem using NOGDROM BIOS.

[Изображение: QMGckcQl.jpg]

http://i.imgur.com/QMGckcQ.jpg

[Изображение: qE6JDyEl.jpg]
(Последний раз сообщение было отредактировано 24.02.2017 в 22:49, отредактировал пользователь aldair.)
24.02.2017 22:47
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
Gillbert Не на форуме
Продвинутый
***

Сообщений: 127
Зарегистрирован: 10.08.2014
Рейтинг: 4
Сказал спасибо: 30
Поблагодарили 51 раз(а) в 34 сообщ.
Сообщение: #9
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
(24.02.2017 16:12)aykiri1 писал(а):  i have same problem. i have installed active crystal to mainboard, and HDD (crystal is OK. with crystal sound is OK)
removed gdrom. HDD not booting but SD card booting

SATA or IDE?

(24.02.2017 16:12)aykiri1 писал(а):  if i manuel select IDE from startup screen its booting from HDD

If you are using SD Card with DS contents, then it's normal, because Dreamshell will always firstly boot from SD Card by default.

Does it boot from HDD if you remove the SD Card?
25.02.2017 09:56
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
aykiri1 Не на форуме
Пользователь
**

Сообщений: 50
Зарегистрирован: 15.11.2016
Рейтинг: 1
Сказал спасибо: 6
Поблагодарили 29 раз(а) в 16 сообщ.
Сообщение: #10
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
(25.02.2017 09:56)Gillbert писал(а):  
(24.02.2017 16:12)aykiri1 писал(а):  i have same problem. i have installed active crystal to mainboard, and HDD (crystal is OK. with crystal sound is OK)
removed gdrom. HDD not booting but SD card booting

SATA or IDE?

(24.02.2017 16:12)aykiri1 писал(а):  if i manuel select IDE from startup screen its booting from HDD

If you are using SD Card with DS contents, then it's normal, because Dreamshell will always firstly boot from SD Card by default.

Does it boot from HDD if you remove the SD Card?

hi Gilbert
disk is SATA
HDD not booting with or without SD
but on boot menu if i select manuel IDE then HDD booting without SD card
i tried different no_gdrom_BIOS versions same result
sd card always successed all bios versions tested

PS: when installed GDrom card HDD booting (bios is No_gdrom)
(Последний раз сообщение было отредактировано 25.02.2017 в 11:50, отредактировал пользователь aykiri1.)
25.02.2017 11:03
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
dragoncity Не на форуме
Опытный
****

Сообщений: 656
Зарегистрирован: 05.03.2016
Рейтинг: 5
Сказал спасибо: 57
Поблагодарили 96 раз(а) в 79 сообщ.
Сообщение: #11
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
Maybe it's the hard disk.

When i tested with active crystal I have problem with some hard disk ide.

http://www.dc-swat.ru/forum/thread-2362-...l#pid31592

http://www.dc-swat.ru/forum/thread-2145-page-14.html

So I know your problem Sleepy..but I don't know why.

And If I put the gdrom card works (without active crystal)..the same for you?

Dreamcast GD-IDE
Dreamcast G1-ATA
Dreamcast New-Bios
OS Dreamshell

>> Compatibility List Dreamshell RC4 By DragonCity <<
(Последний раз сообщение было отредактировано 26.02.2017 в 14:42, отредактировал пользователь dragoncity.)
26.02.2017 14:41
Вебсайт Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
aykiri1 Не на форуме
Пользователь
**

Сообщений: 50
Зарегистрирован: 15.11.2016
Рейтинг: 1
Сказал спасибо: 6
Поблагодарили 29 раз(а) в 16 сообщ.
Сообщение: #12
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
(26.02.2017 14:41)dragoncity писал(а):  Maybe it's the hard disk.

When i tested with active crystal I have problem with some hard disk ide.

http://www.dc-swat.ru/forum/thread-2362-...l#pid31592

http://www.dc-swat.ru/forum/thread-2145-page-14.html

So I know your problem Sleepy..but I don't know why.

And If I put the gdrom card works (without active crystal)..the same for you?

Hi dragoncity.

Yes with Gdrom card all disks working correctly (i tried with and without active crystal)

normally i see "SD card not found" and frozen with crystal and without gdrom card

also i tested with NO_GDrom_bios,with active crystal,with gdrom
boot success all disks (tried 7 different sata disks)

Without gdrom not booting something checks gdrom i think
26.02.2017 14:54
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
Gillbert Не на форуме
Продвинутый
***

Сообщений: 127
Зарегистрирован: 10.08.2014
Рейтинг: 4
Сказал спасибо: 30
Поблагодарили 51 раз(а) в 34 сообщ.
Сообщение: #13
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
The problem isn't the SATA HDD, but the adapter.

Unfortunately nogdrom bios doesn't work along with SATA adapters without an active GD-ROM board. That's because the way of most SATA adapters are set in slave mode, it's not the same thing as an actual IDE HDD.
26.02.2017 22:44
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
aykiri1 Не на форуме
Пользователь
**

Сообщений: 50
Зарегистрирован: 15.11.2016
Рейтинг: 1
Сказал спасибо: 6
Поблагодарили 29 раз(а) в 16 сообщ.
Сообщение: #14
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
(26.02.2017 22:44)Gillbert писал(а):  The problem isn't the SATA HDD, but the adapter.

Unfortunately nogdrom bios doesn't work along with SATA adapters without an active GD-ROM board. That's because the way of most SATA adapters are set in slave mode, it's not the same thing as an actual IDE HDD.

but when booting bios i click start button and selecting manually IDE. so booting sata hdd without gdrom board
26.02.2017 23:29
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
Gillbert Не на форуме
Продвинутый
***

Сообщений: 127
Зарегистрирован: 10.08.2014
Рейтинг: 4
Сказал спасибо: 30
Поблагодарили 51 раз(а) в 34 сообщ.
Сообщение: #15
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
(26.02.2017 23:29)aykiri1 писал(а):  but when booting bios i click start button and selecting manually IDE. so booting sata hdd without gdrom board

But can Dreamshell boot when you do this way?

I will test that you said later, if that really works maybe some small tweak can be done on bios.
26.02.2017 23:41
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
aykiri1 Не на форуме
Пользователь
**

Сообщений: 50
Зарегистрирован: 15.11.2016
Рейтинг: 1
Сказал спасибо: 6
Поблагодарили 29 раз(а) в 16 сообщ.
Сообщение: #16
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
(26.02.2017 23:41)Gillbert писал(а):  
(26.02.2017 23:29)aykiri1 писал(а):  but when booting bios i click start button and selecting manually IDE. so booting sata hdd without gdrom board

But can Dreamshell boot when you do this way?

I will test that you said later, if that really works maybe some small tweak can be done on bios.

Yes exactly Dreamshell booting success with this way
27.02.2017 00:21
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
aldair Не на форуме
Опытный
****

Сообщений: 550
Зарегистрирован: 03.02.2012
Рейтинг: 7
Сказал спасибо: 65
Поблагодарили 151 раз(а) в 108 сообщ.
Сообщение: #17
RE: DC with IDE and no GDROM will not boot
(26.02.2017 22:44)Gillbert писал(а):  The problem isn't the SATA HDD, but the adapter.

Unfortunately nogdrom bios doesn't work along with SATA adapters without an active GD-ROM board. That's because the way of most SATA adapters are set in slave mode, it's not the same thing as an actual IDE HDD.
Only worked cf-sd and ide ssd.





CF-SD VIDEO: https://www.facebook.com/Dreamshell2016/...171263075/
(Последний раз сообщение было отредактировано 01.03.2017 в 06:39, отредактировал пользователь aldair.)
01.03.2017 06:20
Найти все сообщения Цитировать это сообщение
Создать ответ 


Похожие темы
Тема: Автор Ответов: Просмотров: Посл. сообщение
  Dreamshell Boot Loader and VMU manager whschimmel 1 589 20.07.2019 13:02
Посл. сообщение: SWAT
  DreamShell stuck at boot loader screen kitsunee2 3 1225 17.01.2019 21:11
Посл. сообщение: megavolt85
  Edit boot swirl colour Toe-Knee 0 1265 19.05.2018 22:38
Посл. сообщение: Toe-Knee
Грустный Don't boot anymore if you cut the ide cable... dragoncity 15 6558 10.05.2018 19:39
Посл. сообщение: fanhais
  Does it work? _Dreamcast (no-gdrom.bios) aldair 0 2432 04.10.2017 18:34
Посл. сообщение: aldair
  Homebrew Games won't boot after CF card format thedoctor45 6 7372 27.09.2017 18:10
Посл. сообщение: thedoctor45
  Making Dreamcast GDROM dumps with 3 data tracks and raw audio smaller tossEAC 0 2411 03.04.2017 17:59
Посл. сообщение: tossEAC
  Slow boot, constantly checking for disc in drive Russtyb 6 6173 23.03.2017 15:17
Посл. сообщение: Russtyb
  HDD Sata boot problem zal16 7 10728 27.12.2016 23:05
Посл. сообщение: aykiri1
Шокирован gdrom board out of order :( somacast 14 16504 25.12.2016 01:05
Посл. сообщение: somacast

Переход:


Пользователи просматривают эту тему: 1 Гость(ей)